Blog Archives

IPAS revolutionary research featured in Optics Express

 IPAS researchers led by Dr Stephen Warren-Smith and Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem have fabricated an imaging optical fibre using a new technique of extruding glass through metal 3D printed dies. This opens opportunities for ultra-small, high-resolution imaging with potential for imaging and sensing inside previously inaccessible regions of the body.

Soft-glass imaging microstructured optical fibers
Stephen C. Warren-Smith, Alastair Dowler, and Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem
Optics Express, Vol. 26, Issue 26,pp. 33604-33612 (2018)
DOI: 10.1364/OE.26.033604


Professor Tanya Monro wins AOS WH (Beattie) Steel Medal

Prof Tanya Monro

The Australian Optical Society has awarded Professor Tanya Monro the 2014 AOS WH (Beattie) Steel Medal in recognition of her leadership and significant contribution to the field of optics, particularly in the realm of micro-structured optical fibres constructed from a wide variety of glass materials.

This Medal is the most prestigious award of the Australian Optical Society. It is presented to a nominee with a strong and sustained record of authority, enterprise and innovation in the field of optics in Australia or New Zealand.

As an Adjunct Professor at IPAS, Tanya remains an optical researcher with passion and vision and is a worthy recipient of the AOS Beattie Steel Medal. We congratulate her on this significant award.