Category Archives: Awards

EO Tuck Medal winner

EO Tuck Medal winnerYvonne Stokes1

Professor Yvonne Stokes has been awarded the EO Tuck medal for outstanding research and distinguished service to the field of Applied Mathematics. The medal is awarded by ANZIAM (Australia and New Zealand Industrial and Applied Mathematics).

Congratulations to Yvonne who was also promoted to professorial level E effectively from 1 January 2018.


Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem winner of 2017 Winnovation Award!

Congratulations to our Deputy Director Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem who has won the 2017 Winnovation Award  – category Technology! IPAS Deputy Director and Associate Director of the Optofab Adelaide Node of the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF), Prof Ebendorff-Heidepriem has demonstrated her outstanding leadership role in the establishment of the Adelaide node of Optofab, a state-of-art glass science, fibre fabrication and 3D manufacturing research facility.

Announced on Friday 6th October,  the Winnovation Awards celebrate  the successes of female innovators changing the game in South Australia.



Prof Abell and team featured in NHMRC top 10 for 2016!


Inhibitors of biotin protein ligase: A new class of antibiotic targeting Staphylococcus aureus”  led by Prof Andrew Abell and his team has been awarded 1 of the best 10 NHMRC research project 2016!

This project successfully engaged chemistry and biochemistry to discover a new antibacterial by inhibiting a key protein – known as biotin protein ligase (BPL)- as a potential mechanism for limiting bacterial survival.

Congratulations to Prof Andrew Abel and team!

2017 Winnovation Award Finalist !

Winnovation Awards

Congratulations to Prof Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem who has been chosen as a finalist in the category of Technology for her leadership role in the establishment of the Adelaide node of Optofab, a state-of-the-art glass science, fibre fabrication and 3D manufacturing research facility.

Winnovation Awards,  in their fourth year, celebrate and elevate the amazing talent of women in South Australia.  The winners will be announced and honoured on Friday, October 6 at Bendigo Bank, Waymouth St, CBD @ 5.30pm.

Eureka! Sapphire Clock Finalist in the Eureka Prize


The Sapphire Clock team, led by Professor Andre Luiten, is one of two finalists in the “Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia” category the Australian Museum Eureka Prize.

Over the last 20 years, the Sapphire Clock team, including Professor Andre Luiten, A/Professor John Hartnett and A/Professor Martin O’Connor has developed a high-precision technology that generates signals of the ultimate purity. The Sapphire Clock is a cryogenic sapphire oscillator that allows time to be measured to the femtosecond scale (one quadrillionth of a second), with only a single second gained or lost every 40 million years. This kind of accuracy is required for ultra-high precision measurements.

Their work was motivated out of a belief that precision measurement is the path to discovering new knowledge – a foundation belief of all science – however, this capability also delivers a competitive advantage to industry by allowing one to measure what was previously thought to be immeasurable.

Recently, the Sapphire Clock team initiated a collaboration the Jindalee Over-The-Horizon Radar Network (JORN) with the Sapphire Clock having applications to improve radar technology. JORN is a linchpin of Australia’s security, providing long-range, broad-scale and continuous surveillance. The sapphire clock technology offers a step-change in the performance of this radar, which has been likened to getting 30 years of development in just one day. This combination of leading technologies opens a path to improved security for all Australians

“By combining two decades of pioneering research with cutting-edge engineering, the Sapphire Clock Team’s technology offers the potential for a step change in the performance of the Jindalee Over-The-Horizon Radar Network, a vital Australian defence asset. The Sapphire Clock offers a thousandfold improvement in timing precision, helping Australian defence agencies identify threats to the nation”


Additional links:

Finalists video

Australian Museum media release


Queen’s Birthday Honours for Leader in Solar-Terrestrial Physics

Congratulations to Emeritus Professor Bob Vincent, who’s contribution to atmospheric physics, gravity waves and radar hardware, was recognised with a Member in the General Division (AM) award in the Queen’s Birthday honours.

Professor Vincent’s academic and research career spans 50 years, having published more than 300 articles, that have been cited more than 9500 times.  Specifically, his work is in the top 0.5% by citations in Geoscience (Institute for Scientific Information, ISI, ranking).

More information of other University of Adelaide staff and members that were recipients of Queen’s Birthday honours can be found here.

Bob Vincent

National Measurement Institute and World Metrology Day Honour for Andre Luiten

prof-andre-luiten-ctdToday’s World Metrology Day and to celebrate, the National Measurement Institute (NMI) announced Professor Andre Luiten as the recipient of the Barry Inglis Medal.

The award is in recognition of Andre and team’s pioneering research into the development of techniques for extremely precise and accurate measurement of time. Specifically, the Cryogenic Sapphire Clock is a ultra precise oscillator that can measure time at the femtosecond scale (one quadrillionth of a second) and a single second deviation occurs one every 40 million years. This kind of precision is essential for technologies such as metrology and radar.

More information can be found in Media Releases from Hon Craig Laundy (Assistant Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science) and the University of Adelaide.

Cryo clock landscape