Prof Tanya Monro wins SA Australian of the Year

Professor Tanya Monro has been named South Australia’s Australian of the Year 2011 and presented with her award by the Governor of South Australia, His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce at the National Wine Centre last night. “I guess I am not your stereotypical scientist and it would be nice for people to think: if she can do it, I can. This is a way of showcasing the value and impact of science, and of showing kids that science careers allow you to have fun and be creative, and to make a difference” Tanya said. She has now becomes a finalist for the national awards, which will be announced on January 25, 2011 in Canberra.


Posted on November 11, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: